Skip to Main Content

U.S. History I - Mr. Zakowski: Search and Citation Tips

Database Search Tips

ISSUES & CONTROVERSIES SEARCH & CITATION TIPS
SEARCH TIPS
  • Search by Subject or ERA for best results
  • Choose your topic
  • Left column for article parts and Primary Sources
CITE IN EASYBIB   
  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project.
  • From Infobase, choose "Citation" - EXPORT to  EasyBib
  • NO EXPORT?? Follow these directions:
    • ​From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project.
    • Open "All 59 Options" - Choose Write/Paste
    • From Infobase, copy the citation from the bottom of the article
    • Paste it into EasyBib​​

ABC-CLIO SEARCH & CITATION TIPS

LOGIN:  (Hint: Your School/School Mascot)
SEARCH TIPS
  • Explore by Time Periods in each database for best results.
  • Select a topic
    • EXPLORE - Slide Shows and other instruction
    • ANALYZE - Key Question, Background, Defining Moments
    • RESEARCH - General Resources, Articles, Biographies
    • MEDIA - Images, Political Cartoons, and more
    • DOCUMENTS - Primary Sources

NEW FEATURE! SAVE TO YOUR GOOGLE DRIVE

  • Click on Save - Send to Google Drive
CITE IN EASYBIB   
  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project.
  • From ABC-CLIO, choose "Cite" - EXPORT to  EasyBib

Britannica 

CITE TO EASYBIB   

  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project
  • Open "All 59 Styles" and choose "Paste"
  • From Britannica, open your article
  • Click on "CITE" - Select your citation style -COPY
  • Go back to EasyBib and paste 

More Search Tips

JSTOR

ADVANCED SEARCH  &  LIMITERS

1.   HELPFUL SEARCH HINTS 

  • Use the ADVANCED SEARCH for best results
  • Don't type in too many words - try 5 or less
  • Use quotation marks, ex: "boom or bust"
  • Check the ARTICLES box
  • Consider a date range when appropriate
  • Scroll down and "Narrow by Discipline" if you get too many results

2.   RESULTS PAGE 

  • Open an article that looks useful to you
  • Click on "Thumbnails" to assess the length and type of article (text-only, diagrams, etc)

3.   CITE TO EASYBIB    (UPGRADE to RHS EasyBib Pro Subscription; coupon code ridgehsnj)

  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project
  • Choose the JOURNAL tab
  • From JSTOR, copy the TITLE ONLY of the article to be cited
  • Paste the title of the JSTOR article into the EasyBib box
  • Click on "Cite it"
  • Choose JSTOR from the tabs - "Cite This

EBSCO - Explora, Academic Search Premier and History Reference Center

Follow these directions for a more effective search.

  • Enter 2 or 3 keywords in the search box
  • From the left side of the page:
    • click on Full-Text
    • Slide the Publication Date to specify year of publication
    • From Source Types, click on Show More and choose one or more
  • Take your time and scroll down a few pages to find an appropriate article

 

Cite to EasyBib:

  • From EasyBib - Open the bibliography tab of your project 
  • From EBSCO - Click "Export" from the right column - Choose EasyBib
  • The citation will automatically be placed into your bibliography

Infobase eBooks

NEW! Share to Google Classroom.  Click on Share and save the article/book chapter to Google Classroom

SEARCH TIPS

  • Select a specific book from the subject list on the list OR
  • Enter your search term(s) in the search box
  • Open your book chapter and use the tools on the left to print, save to Google Classroom, or email.

CITE IN EASYBIB   

  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project​
  • Open "All 59 Options" - Choose Write/Paste
  • From Infobase, open the book to be cited.
  • Click on "Citation Information" - Choose CMS (Chicago) or MLA 
  • Copy and Paste

NoodleTools

Let NoodleTools help you with your citations, notes, and outlines. Use it as a "working bibliography" to keep track of your research. You can always delete items.

All RHS teachers and students are registered in NoodleTools. Sign in with Google using your Ridgewood email.

GVRL

SEARCH TIPS

  • Use the Basic Search OR 
  • Search specific books by SUBJECT (right column)
  • Find an article or book chapter that you need
  • Use the tools on the right: Download to Google Drive, Cite to EasyBib etc
  • Click on MORE for more features including a complete title list

SAVE TO YOUR GOOGLE DRIVE

  • Click on Download and choose Google Drive

CITE IN EASYBIB   

  • From EasyBib, open the bibliography tab of your project.
  • From GVRL, choose "Citation Tools" - EXPORT -  EasyBib

Destiny Catalog (OPAC)

Search & Refine Results 

Use advanced search and limit to subject search
Scroll down to "Subject Headings" and click on relevant topics for other books

Cite & Save 

Select "Export to Easybib"
Review each item and add/edit as needed