RHS Library Learning Commons: Literary Criticism & Author Study: Short Stories

DIGITAL RESEARCH BOOKS

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
~ GVRL is an digital collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research available 24/7 with no checkout.
~ Browse, search or download articles, chapters or titlesTitles can be browsed, searched and downloaded anytime from any Internet-connected device.
Digitally reproduced from trusted, authoritative reference works
~ Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you a collection of premier reference books that you can view and search online.
~ Select a book to browse its table of contents. When the book is part of a series, you will first need to select a specific volume.

See especially the 36-volume Short Stories for Students:

Hundreds of the most-studied short stories in literature.
Entries include:
- Author Bio * Characters * Themes * Style * Historical Context * Critical Overview * Criticism

For in-depth author study/analysis please see the American Writers Series.

Search:

Enter the last name of your author and the title of your story in the search box:
Ex: Dr. Heidegger's Experiment Hawthorne
Highlighted in red is the chapter or section of the book relevant to your search
Open the relevant sections: Print, Read, Listen, Email, Save, Cite

OTHER LIT CRIT RESOURCES

Use our other Literary Criticism databases to find information on Shakespeare.

Click on the DATABASE tab of this LibGuide for more information

Short Story Criticism in LCO

Literature Criticism Online: Short Stories (GALE) This link opens in a new window

SHORT STORIES ONLY: Journal Articles and Essays

This database is for short stories only! All 188 volumes of the Gale Short Story Criticism now available online. Journal articles and essays on literary criticism and analysis, plot background and characters, and author information.

Searching this database is a little different than the others you may be used to. Follow these steps:

To search ONLY the Short Story Collection follow these steps:
- Choose ADVANCED SEARCH
- Scroll down to All electronic resources and select Short Story Criticism Online
- Stay on that page!
- Go up to the ADVANCED SEARCH and search by Keyword, Name of Work, Person, etc
- Now Click Search
- Continue to weed out results by using the filters on the right.
Narrow your results from the left column
Choose "View All" next to your hits.
Open one of your "hits."
- See the "Relevant Pages" on your right
- Click on "Fullscreen" from the top-left. Hit "Exit" to return
- Follow directions below to cite the document.