RHS Library Learning Commons: News, Current Events & Pro/Con Issues: Newspapers & Magazines

News Websites & Replicas

New York Times Digital This link opens in a new window Only within RPS wifi network, district subscription with no user registration or log in. Archive access: 1851-1922 and 1980-present. Articles from 1923-1979 are unavailable with our subscription. Visit Ridgewood Public Library databases for 1851-2014.

Unlimited access from school wi-fi network.
Some access to historic articles. Full access 1851-2014 is available through Ridgewood Public Library with card #.

Wall Street Journal Newspaper This link opens in a new window WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Top stories, photos, videos, detailed analysis and more.
Record, The: Bergen County This link opens in a new window

Get back articles from Bergen County's newspaper The Record. HTML format, full-text from 1998 - present.

Unlimited access from school wifi network through the Secondary School Programme.

eLibrary This link opens in a new window A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content, designed for middle and high school students, undergraduates at community colleges and universities, instructors, and librarians. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research. All content is 100% full-text, including documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos. The collection covers a wide range of subjects.

Access full text through eLibary database.
Daily edition in the "replica" version: a digital image of printed paper page by page. See LLC staff for subscription info.
Washington Post no longer supports institutional subscriptions to its website.

International & Domestic Newspaper Database

Search back issues for full-text articles of more than 860 newspapers including San Francisco Chronicle, The Times (UK), The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Seattle Times, etc.
Also a source for television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more.

New York Times Historical - 1851-2014 (RPL Proquest) This link opens in a new window Full-text, PDF format, New York Times newspaper articles from 1851.
Use your Ridgewood Public Library Card # or 29101005479012.

This database is available through Ridgewood Public Library. Password: your public library card #

Search Tips:

MAS Ultra School (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from 500+ popular & specialized magazines. Also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Articles from popular magazines and journals.

The most recent issues may not be available for 1-3 months from publication date.

See a sample of titles available below.

News

Political Commentary & Opinion

Social Commentary & Opinion

Consumer Health

History

Diplomacy & International Relations

Science

Environmentalism