RHS Learning Commons: Social Studies: Find a Topic

Find a Topic in a Database

Issues & Controversies History (Infobase/FOF) Browse ISSUES chronologically by ERA or thematically by SUBJECT. Well organized information explaining major debates and conflicts in American history. Helps to build understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought. CONTENTS: 3-minute Video, Issue as a Question with brief arguments for and against, Background,detailed Case For/Against, Conclusions discussing outcomes and contemporary points of view. Primary Source Documents, Timelines, Related Articles, Biographies, and more. All Issues have been indexed to Key Subjects such as immigration, politics and government, race and civil rights, religion, war and military, and more to related issues in other time periods.

Use the Call number to find these books in the Library/Learning Commons or ask the Staff for assistance.

History in Dispute: American Revolution, 1763-1789, vol. 12. by Benjamin Frankel (Editor) Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe. This volume covers the American Revolution. Provides students with an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, helps stimulate critical thinking and provides ideas for papers and assignments.
Call Number: GVRL eBook
ISBN: 9781558624566
Publication Date: 2003-04-11
History in Dispute: Slavery in the Western Hemisphere, circa 1500-1888, vol. 13. by Benjamin Frankel (Editor) Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe. This volume covers slavery in the Western Hemisphere, 1500-1888. Provides students with an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, helps stimulate critical thinking and provides ideas for papers and assignments.
Call Number: GVRL eBook
ISBN: 9781558624566
Publication Date: 2003-04-11
Term Paper Resource Guide to Nineteenth-Century U. S. History by Kathleen W. Craver Provides term paper topics on events, people, inventions, cultural contributions, wars, and technological advances that reflect the country's nineteenth-century character and experience.
Call Number: GVRL eBooks
ISBN: 9780313348105
Publication Date: 2008-06-30