RHS Learning Commons: RAHP Research: Articles

Getting Started - Background Info

Use these sources to get general information on your topic before you dig in deeper. You will find essays, articles, and videos on many medical topics in both databases.

Health Reference (InfoBase FOF) From home use ID: ridgewoodhs PW: maroons

MedLine Plus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Health Source - Consumer (Ebsco)
80 health magazines on the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Health Resources: Search Multiple (Ebsco) Search two EBSCO medical and health databases with one search: AHFS Consumer Medication Information and Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health and Wellness Issues Health and Wellness Issues dives deep into today's top health-related issues, exploring their historical contexts, current complexities, impacts on physical and mental well-being, and global reach. Authoritative yet accessible reference content includes the insightful perspectives of a diverse group of experts, giving students the full picture on complex and controversial concepts. Through its collection of carefully curated primary and secondary sources, this multifaceted database offers students a rich resource for school learning and research as well as personal explorations.

Google Search

Google

Use Google to find a website:

Get the most out of your Google search
Use quotation marks to keep words together, i.e. "russian revolution"
Add a word to narrow your search. "russian revolution" causes

Use Google Scholar to find a scholarly articles and case law:

scholar.google.com
Use the tips above to narrow your search
Link out to full text, where available
See how many times an article has been cited

Use Google to find an image:

Use the tips above to narrow your search
Use only images that are legal and within Copyright law
Click on IMAGES - Search Tools - Usage Rights
"Labeled for noncommercial reuse"

Use Google Books:

Many scanned books you can use free of charge
Go to https://books.google.com/
Search by keyword, title, author, etc
Read How to Use Google Books

Journal Articles & Peer-Reviewed/Scholarly

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Academic, high-level journal article database with five thousand full-text, peer-reviewed journals in all subjects.
eLibrary A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content, designed for middle and high school students, undergraduates at community colleges and universities, instructors, and librarians. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research. All content is 100% full-text, including documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos. The collection covers a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias Neuroscience, Global Public Health
Psychology Database Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
Additionally, Psychology Database includes full text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology.

Psychology Database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include:

The American Journal of Psychiatry
Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
Development and Psychopathology
The Psychological Record

Subject coverage
Behavioral psychology
Clinical psychology
Developmental psychology
Neurology
Personality, Psychobiology
Psychometrics
Social psychology
Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.
Science Reference Center (Ebsco) Magazines, encyclopedias, reference, etc. Biology, chemistry, earth/space, environmental, health/medicine, history of, life science, physics, science/society, scientists, technology, wildlife.
MAS Ultra School (Ebsco)
GreenFILE Scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

Reference eBooks

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Laurie J. Fundukian; Gale Group Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781414486468

Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Science and Its Times by Neil Schlager
ISBN: 9780787639327

Publication Date: 2000-04-07
Mental Health in America by Donna R. Kemp; Mildred Vasan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851097944

Publication Date: 2007-02-21
Health Care by Ilan Stavans (Editor)
ISBN: 0313364915

Publication Date: 2009-12-01

A collection of articles about how Latinos navigate both the mainstream medical arena and culturally specific healing traditions.

APA Citation Format

NoodleTools

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)

PubMed

PubMed Central is a government site which provides free access to authoritative, reliable, and current journal articles.

PubMed

PubMed is a free resource for finding biomedical literature, developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Government, NGO, and Non-Profit Agencies

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Food and Drug Administration
Kaiser Family Foundation Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own research, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or major media companies.
National Academy of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Pew Research Center
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
World Health Organization