RHS Library Learning Commons: Sociology: Scholarly Articles and Books

eLibrary

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
A massive collection of multidisciplinary periodical and digital media content, designed for middle and high school students, undergraduates at community colleges and universities, instructors, and librarians. Editorially created pages provide valuable context for both common and more unusual topics of research. All content is 100% full-text, including documents from books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos. The collection covers a wide range of subjects.

Explora (Ebsco)

Explora Secondary (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window

A good place to start your research

Topic-centered database
Reference books, magazines, journals
High school-college level materials

Search Tips:

Enter 2 or 3 Keywords in the search box
Use Filters (on left side)
- Click Full-Text
- Slide the bar for Publication Date to narrow the time period
- Narrow Source Types: click Show More, choose Magazines & News, etc.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window

Let NoodleTools help you with your citations, notes, and outlines. Use it as a "working bibliography" to keep track of your research. You can always delete items.

All RHS teachers and students are registered in NoodleTools. Sign in with Google using your Ridgewood email.

eBooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
~ GVRL is an digital collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research available 24/7 with no checkout.
~ Browse, search or download articles, chapters or titlesTitles can be browsed, searched and downloaded anytime from any Internet-connected device.
Digitally reproduced from trusted, authoritative reference works
~ Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you a collection of premier reference books that you can view and search online.
~ Select a book to browse its table of contents. When the book is part of a series, you will first need to select a specific volume.
eBooks on Infobase This link opens in a new window
eBook History Collection (NEW!) This link opens in a new window
The History eBook Collection allows unlimited, simultaneous users and has about 19,000 books ranging from introductory to academic texts.
Use EBSCO username and password.

eBook History Collection (NEW!) This link opens in a new window
The History eBook Collection allows unlimited, simultaneous users and has about 19,000 books ranging from introductory to academic texts.
Use EBSCO username and password.

Catalog for Books and eBooks

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

Recommended because...

Search for eBooks and print together
Reputable publishers
Scholarly articles
Relevance, Authority, Currency, Type, etc.)

BCCLS (RPL) This link opens in a new window

Also check Ridgewood Public Library and the whole BCCLS system.

Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic, high-level journal article database with five thousand full-text, peer-reviewed journals in all subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Find overview articles and academic research in 26 disciplines such as Education, Environmental Science, History, Literature, Politics, Psychology, Religion, and more. Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated.